Producernieuws exclusive interview: Beat Butcha

geachte lezers en followers,

Speciaal voor producernieuws, een nieuwe exclusive interview met uit de UK afkomstige en internationaal opererende producer; Beat Butcha

Deze producer heb ik leren kennen via MP, juist, de 1e producer die geïnterviewd werd voor het producernieuws blog. Helaas hebben we elkaar nog niet ontmoet, enkel op ping en mail, desondanks was Beat Butcha bereid om wat vragen te beantwoorden voor dit blog zodat de lezers een beeld krijgen van wie hij is en wat hij allemaal gedaan heeft.

Voor wie deze producer nog niet kent, zal zijn vrij recente en meest opvallende productie  wel kennen namelijk, die voor MobbDeep ft. Bounty Killa “Dead man shoes” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFMytMLlShM afkomstig van diens laatste EP “Black Cocaine”

Naast Mobb Deep, heeft Beat Butcha nogal wat grote namen op z’n lijst van samenwerkingen staan, waar menig NL producer (inclusief mij) van gaat watertanden o.a. Curren$y, Cannibus, Xzibit, Sean Price e.a.:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q6OUUAYHgCA (Sean Price, “Let me tell you”).

Ook is Beat Butcha bezig (geweest) in Nederland met o.a. Mr.Probz, Ciph Barker, MP, A&C ft. Dosprod e.a.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEcZpUbd-IA (Mr.Probz, “Hate you”).

Daarnaast is hij nauw verbonden met de (NL based) movement Malkovich, zie www.malkovich.nl die ook andere artiesten pushed o.a. Ciph Barker, Black Marvel, Reggy Lines, Godz Wrath e.a.

Gezien het aantal grote internationale samenwerkingen die deze producer is aangegaan, voel ik me zeer vereerd hem te mogen interviewen voor het producernieuws blog. Uiteraard is dit interview een zeer interessante voor degenen die een internationale carriere erop na willen houden. Daarnaast is het sowieso altijd goed om te weten hoe producers die reeds met de grote namen werken en gewerkt hebben over bepaalde zaken mbt. het produceren denken dan wel in praktijk uitvoeren en heb daarom maar iets meer vragen gesteld dan dat ik normaal doe.

Maar goed, genoeg geschreven, ik denk wel dat je wilt weten wat Beat Butcha te vertellen heeft dus, here we go;

Who or what inspired you to start producing?

I can’t really pin point what inspired me to start but as long as I can remember I’ve always been a fan of music. I think it was a natural progression for me, I started out DJ-ing, I always had a thing for beats.

What is your favorite aspect of producing?

My favorite aspect is turning a great beat into an amazing song with an artist, I really enjoy learning stuff from observation. I guess just the whole creative side is my favorite aspect.

I don’t really enjoy the final mixing, it’s really a make or break situation sometimes and it feels like there’s a lot of pressure when you’re laying a final mix down.

The business side, can be tough too you got to stick up for yourself and stay clued up whilst keeping artists relations cool, so that’s probably my least favorite aspect. But that’s how I keep the bills paid and stay able to make music regularly, and I really do not want a regular 9-5, so I have to go hard for that.

For who do/did you produce tracks (in NL, UK, USA)?

A lot of people haha, the list could get long, I’ll just mention a few:

USA: Mobb Deep, Mac Miller, Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo, Sean Price, Curren$y and loads more…

NL: Winne, Ciph Barker, Dosprod, Feis and more…

UK: Klashnekoff, P Money, Ghetts, Jehst, Roots Manuva, Wretch 32, Plan B and loads more.

Describe your studio set up.

My studio set up consists of a Carillon PC, KRK VXT6 monitors, Juno60, Fantom XR, AKAI MPC2500, Micro Korg, Epiphone Les Paul Guitar, Marshall amp, various FX pedals, a MIDI Controler and a few other bits and bobs.

I have a thing for instruments and synths, next things I will probably buy are a upright piano & a Wurli I think. I personally feel like you can’t beat the sound of a real piano, I haven’t heard a VST or module that sounds as dope as the real thing. Some come close but don’t quite get there.

Since you’ve being in quite some studio’s, what do you prefer analog or digital mixing?

It all depends on the feel of the record that’s getting mixed, in general I prefer the analog approach, just because of the warmth of the sound. But I do like the width you can get with the modern digital mixing and mastering bundles. Which you previously couldn’t get without having lots of expensive equipment.

There is no doubt that analog mixing (if you know what you’re doing) feels nicer, sound wise and the end of the day music should make you feel something. Having said that though, most of my things generally are mixed digitally, because of ease, and lower cost (I don’t have decent access to analog mixing and mastering gear)

What plug-ins do you use most often?

This sounds very strange but I don’t really use any plug ins you know. I use Guitar Rig and that’s about it, I don’t really want to spend crazy money on plug ins if I don’t know if I’ll use em and I have no idea where to get good cracks, I’m very impatient with computer shit haha.

I’ve used the Waves bundles & Izotope Ozone in studios before, and I like them, when I get a new computer I’ll prolly invest in those. But I’m not as up on VSTs and stuff as I’d like to be, because I’ve never really used any. With the exception of Kontakt and Minimonsta. It would be easier if I had more endorsements hahaha! But that’

What was your last studio buy?

Native Instruments sorted me out with the Maschine last year, but I haven’t bought anything new in about 3 years. Last things I bought was my KRK Vxt6 monitors. I’m going to try and upgrade my set up soon though.

What are the do’s and dont’s in producing?

I personally feel like on the creative side, anything goes, there are no rules, do what you like, just make it dope, is my moto. Maybe the only rule I feel gets broken a lot is ‘don’t take credit for someone else’s work’.

Could you give an example of a perfect production (name some tracks/albums)?

I don’t really believe in calling music perfect or the best, it’s a personal taste thing and also things are dope in different fields.

Obviously there’s a lot of undeniable classics out there. Albums that obviously come close to perfection in their field IMO are albums like Raekwon’s first album, Mobb Deep ‘The Infamous’, Wu-Tang ’36 chambers’. Marvin Gaye’s ‘I Want You’ , Michael Jackson’s ‘Off the wall’. And a personal favourite as far as ill vibes Bootsy collins ‘Ahh… The Name Is Bootsy, Baby!’,

Since you know both scene’s could you explain the difference between the NL and UK hiphop scene?

Well, in my eyes, there’s a huge difference, the UK Hip Hop scene is extremely divided, mainly by sub genre/style. And each sub genre don’t mingle really, they have their own scenes; to me there’s good shit in all styles as well as wack shit. But it’s hard to describe why it’s like that, I suppose it’s snobbery. Underground scene probably gets shat on the most, the grime scene & the road/street rap scene stick together nowadays and some artists from those scenes have crossed over to pop (Wretch, Tiny Tempa,Giggs, Tinchy Stryder etc). And in that aspect I’m happy that that has finally happened, because some of the UK heads are now getting a chance to work with huge American artists like Kanye West & Wiz Khalifa. It’s definitely opened a lot of doors, but I still feel like people could be more open minded, people really are all about whatever’s hot right now in the UK. And they usually choose not to acknowledge some of the older shit that probably influenced them like Jehst, Klashnekoff, Blak Twang & Roots Manuva because of the snobbery between scenes.

I suppose also the image the UK has for bringing out it;s own styles of music has probably meant that American style hip hop in British accents wasn’t accepted by the British music industry initially.

I feel like dutch hip hop scene has been healthy for a few years now, I really enjoy some of it. It is of course also divided but cats like Rotjoch have given everybody the same platform to showcase themselves on, which I think is wicked. Which is unlike the UK, because you would never see someone like Jehst or Roots Manuva on the Westwood show, not because Jehst doesnt want to be on his show but because of despite them selling more records than some of the people that are on his show, that style is frowned upon.

But of course the unfortunate thing is reach as far as listeners is limited because Holland is a reasonably small country and not many other countries speak dutch. Which is why it probably doesn’t get international recognition, despite having some great music.

Do you sell beats or other stuff (drumkits), if yes where can interested ones find it or contact you?

I have an instrumental compilation called ‘Raw & Uncut Vol.1’ available from www.beatbutcha.bandcamp.com

As well as 2 drum kits, ‘Lamb Chops’ & ‘Chicken Drum Kit’, which are available from: http://hiphopdrumsamples.com/product/beat-butcha-lamb-chops-drum-kit-digital-download

 

Unlike other producer’s kits (not mentioning names), my kits actually feature my favorite sounds that I have used on my tracks for Mobb Deep, Lloyd Banks and more.

What can we expect from you in the near future, what are your plans?

In the near future, I have 2 joints on Lloyd Banks’ ‘V6′ mixtape, 3 on Prodigy’s ‘HNIC 3′ album and I’ve just recorded a new joint with Curren$y, I’m not sure what that will be on.

Other than that I have a track on Xzibit’s next album ‘Napalm’ and a few records on Sean Price’s ‘Mic Tyson’, when he eventually gets round to dropping it. Also working on some non hip hop shit, but I wont disclose until that shits ready to drop.

I’m a very ambitious person, so I will continue to try and make bigger and better moves and hopefully become a widely recognized producer in and out of the hip hop field.

Could you share a tip or trick, or maybe you have a good quote for future producers?

Advice to up coming producers? Make music because you love it, not because you think it could be a lucrative profession. Because the reality is for 97% of people it’s not lucrative and you will make yourself miserable chasing paper. That’s not saying that you can’t be the 3%, but that wont happen, if you don’t absolutely love what you do.

Aldus Beat Butcha…

Verdere informatie omtrent Beat Butcha en zijn producten kun je vinden (zoals bovenaan vermeld) op www.malkovich.nl , en is er een ook een http://www.facebook.com/pages/Beat-Butcha/175086932507280 page, twitter @beatbutcha dus volg de man!

Tevens heeft m’n collega blogger de hiphopadviseuse heeft nog een leuke video interview van Beat Butcha bij thisis50.com op haar blog staan: http://dehiphopadviseuse.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/interview-thisis50-met-beat-butcha/ , dus check dit ook ff als je toch al aan het surfen bent!

Zoals altijd, mail je suggesties en vragen door naar producernieuws@mail.com

Bedankt voor het lezen en tot de volgende…

Nikola Krstovic

4 gedachtes over “Producernieuws exclusive interview: Beat Butcha

  1. Pingback: Beat Butcha Interview @ Nikes’ Producer Nieuws

  2. Pingback: Ciph Barker Interview op Nikes’ Producer-Nieuws

  3. Pingback: 2012 Recap: Beat Butcha

Geef een reactie

